Maria M. McLaren, Winchester, Ontario

N2009-031This little photograph dates from the 1890’s.  It was taken by N.W. Trickey, who was also one of the barbers in the town.   Although the picture is clearly identified on the back, it is a challenge to find her family history.  There are many “Mary McLarens” in Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry, but none living in Winchester, and none of suitable age or location called “Maria”.

I have a theory that this is the Mary Morrison McLaren, widow, who died in Lochiel, Glengarry on 28 September, 1896.  She would have been born in circa 1822-4.

This Mary McLaren stands out for me because her daughter said that she was born in Quebec.  This would account for the spelling of her name, “Marie”.

However, looking back on the 1871 and 1881 census, we find that Mary McLaren, while living, said that she was born in Ireland.

Also, Lochiel, Glengarry is rather distant from Winchester.  Why would she have her photograph taken in Winchester?  And what about  her clothing, which seems rather nice for a poor widow.  However, the Mary McLaren of Lochiel made her living as a seamstress, and it is tempting to think that she made her own elaborate cape and bodice.

If anyone has family connections with Marie M. McLaren,  and has helpful information, I would be interested to know.

3 Comments

Filed under History, Ontario, Material culture, Photography

3 responses to “Maria M. McLaren, Winchester, Ontario

  1. Liz Cochran

    Hi, I’ve been researching my family’s history these past few months and I think Maria Marks is one of my ancestors. This is what I have so far, although I’m still working toward gathering sources. I’ve also found information that she may have married a second time to an Armstrong. Her date of death here is questionable since I’m still researching. Let me know if you think we may be researching the same person. Thanks, Liz
    Maria Marks
    Birth 7 Nov 1824  Ireland 
    Death 15 Oct 1889 Muskegon, Muskegon, Michigan, United States,  
    Family Info
    Father ? Mother ?
    Spouse: Robert McLaren (1820-1855)
    Married 1842 
    Children:
    Adeline Matilda (1842-) Jessie Wilhelmina (1844-1872) Jane Emily (1846-1927) Maria (1848-) Ellen Edith (1850-1928) Sarah Emily (1852-) Euphemia Jameison (1853-1939) Robert J (1855-1935) 

    • newzeum's material culture

      Dear Liz:- I am not personally connected to a McLaren family. I looked at the information you sent, and alas! I don’t think that this picture is your Mary McLaren. This picture is clearly labelled in a contemporary hand, and the surname is not Armstrong. Also, I don’t see any connection between your Mary and eastern Ontario. There are several candidates for this picture, and all died in eastern Ontario where the picture was found. I have left your comments on the blog, in hopes they will help others.

  2. Liz Cochran

    Hello again, good to hear back from you. Robert McLaren (my Maria’s husband) was born about 1820, and died about 1855, in Perth, Lanark County. He was the son of James and Euphemia (Jamieson), from Scotland and both parents also died in Lanark County. I’ll continue research for my Maria Marks family. Thanks much! Liz

Leave a Reply

